New Research Horizons in NanoMedicine

Date: 4th December 2014, 1:00-5:30pm

Venue: Hughes Hall, Pavilion Room

We invite you to participate in this winter’s NanoForum workshop ‘New Research Horizons in Nanomedicine’ to be held on 4th December at Hughes Hall.

This workshop aims to boost networking and collaboration between different Cambridge-based scientists working in nanomedicine related topics. The workshop will showcase the current research carried out in the field including diagnosis tools, drug delivery and regenerative medicine systems as well as new methods for bionanomaterials characterisation. The talks will be followed by a panel discussion session on challenges in nanomedicine field with the objective to develop new strategies and exchange novel ideas to tackle these challenges.

The workshop will be highly multidisciplinary bringing together researchers from engineering, physical, biological and clinical sciences


1:00 pm– 1:10 pm.  Arrival and Registration (coffee/tea/biscuits will be available)

1:10 pm– 1:20 pm.  Welcome and Introduction

1:20 pm ­- 2:45 pm.  Nanomedicine Research in Cambridge 

Prof. Nigel Slater, “Biopolymer-mediated intracellular transport for  drug delivery and human cell cryopreservation”

Dr. Oren Scherman “Dynamic Supramolecular Polymers in Drug Delivery: From Hydrogels to Microcapsules”

Dr. David Fairen-Jimenez, “Adsorption Processes in Metal-Organic Frameworks for Healthcare

Dr. Su Metcalfe “Research Horizons in Nanomedicine: Multiple Sclerosis”

Dr. Yan Yan Shery Huang “Biointerface and Organ-on-Chips”

Dr. Sarah Bohndiek  “Imaging in nanomedicine”

2:45 pm ­- 3:15 pm. Break with coffee and cake

3:15pm – 4:00 pm. Panel Discussion.

Led by Dr. Stefano Pluchino

4:00 pm-4:15 pm. Nanomedicine Research within the Nanoforum Network 

Prof. Jeremy Baumberg

4:15 pm – 5:15 pm. Networking event

5:15 pm-  5:30 pm. Closing remarks


Megha Agrawal, The Nanoscience Centre

Richard Baird,  Department of Oncology

Jeremy Baumberg, Department of Physics

Sarah Bohndiek, Department of Physics and Cancer Research UK Cambridge Institute

Philip Buttery, Department of Clinical Neurosciences

Kevin Chalut, Department of Physics

David Fairen-Jimenez, Department of Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology

Javier Garcia Nafria, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology

Kerstin Goepfrich, Department of Physics

Ahu Gumrah-Parry, Department of Chemistry and Department of Physics

Silvia Hernandez-Ainsa, Department of Physics

Yan Yan Shery Huang, Department of Engineering

Agnieszka Iwasiewicz-Wabnig, Department of Physics

Karishma  Jain, Department of Physics

James Joseph, Department of Physics and Cancer Research UK Cambridge Institute

Rebecca Kershaw, The Nanoscience Centre

Ulrich Keyser, Department of Physics

Ji Liu, Department of Chemistry

Su Metcalfe, Department of Clinical Neurosciences

Andre Neves, Cancer Research UK Cambridge Institute

Eileen Nugent, Department of Physics

Katherine Orchard, Department of Chemistry

Claudia Orellana, Department of Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology

Myriam Ouberai, The Nanoscience Centre

Stefano Pluchino, Department of Clinical Neurosciences

Stefanie Reichelt, Cancer Research UK Cambridge Institute

Oren Scherman, Department of Chemistry

Nigel Slater, Department of Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology

Jayden Smith, Department of Clinical Neurosciences

Silvia Sonzini, Department of Chemistry

Michelle Teplensky, Department of Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology

Alexandra Vaideanu, The Nanoscience Centre

Silvia Vignolini, Department of Chemistry

Jana Voigt, School of Clinical Medicine

Mark Welland, Department of Engineering

Jenny Zhang, Department of Chemistry



Portfolio of Participants



Enquiries should be directed to:


Dr Ahu Gumrah Dumanli Parry [agd33] and Dr Silvia Hernandez Ainsa [smh80] (NanoForum Fellows)